Founded:             1962

Location:             Zaria, Kaduna State, Northern Nigeria

Faculty:                13 Academic Faculties

Facilities:            82 Academic departments,  Post-graduate school

Fields of study: Arts, Environmental Design, Engineering, Social Sciences, Sciences

Motto:                  “The first duty of every university is the search for and the spread of knowledge and the establishment of the nation.”

Founded on October 4th 1962, Ahmadu Bello University (ABU) is West Africa’s largest university with 82 academic departments, 49,954 students and 500,000 alumni. The University is also identified as a first class Architecture School and innovator in Agricultural research.Ahmadu_bello_university_senate

Under the administration of current Vice Chancellor Professor Ibrahim Garba, ABU now specializes in several programs including Sciences, Social sciences, Arts, Environmental Design, and Engineering. The University is ranked as the best for its unmatched expertise in Architecture and research in Agriculture. Over the course of its history, the University has nurtured two University Colleges- Abdullahi Bayero College (now Bayero University, Kano) and Abubakar Tafawa Balewa College (now Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University of Technology, Bauchi).

ABU has a large medical program with its own A.B.U Teaching Hospital recognized as one of the largest training hospitals in Nigeria and indeed Africa. There are currently 27 institutions, made up of Colleges of Education, Polytechnics and Schools of Basic or Preliminary Studies  affiliated to Ahmadu Bello University (ABU).

Some of ABU’s notable alumni include Emir of Kano, Sanusi Lamido; Pro-Chancellor of Plateau University, Professor Muhammadu Attahiru Jega who was honored at the 2015 NHEF Awards Gala; Former President of Nigeria, Late Umaru Musa Yar’Adua, GCFR; Former Executive Director of World Bank, Mansur Mukhtar; and numerous Nigerian State Governors and Federal Ministers.


For more information, visit https://abu.edu.ng/