University of Port Harcourt




Choba, Port Harcourt, Rivers state, Nigeria


12 Academic Faculties

Fields of study:

Administration, Agriculture, Arts, Basic Medical Sciences, Education, Engineering, Environmental Science, Law, Medicine, Pharmacy, Science and Social Science.


For Enlightenment and Self-Reliance

Founded in 1975, University of Port Harcourt (UNIPORT) is a second-generation Federal University located in the Niger-Delta region of Nigeria with over 50,000 students and a strong focus in Petroleum Engineering. Formerly known as University College, Port Harcourt, UNIPORT has been ranked amongst the top ten universities in Africa and as the first in Nigeria by Times Higher Education (THE); a UK-based source for higher education information.

Under the administration of the current Vice Chancellor, Professor Nimi Briggs, UNIPORT recently reached a milestone by being the first university to train the first set of Nuclear Engineers in Nigeria. The University also won a grant from the World Bank to build up a center of excellence in oilfield chemicals. The University has been noted as one of the best institutions in Nigeria involved in the study of business ethics and indigenous entrepreneurship development.

UNIPORT is affiliated with the Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU), Association of African Universities (AAU) and the University of Port Harcourt Teaching Hospital. This great citadel of learning has a number of notable alumni, some of which include; Former President of Nigeria GCFR, Goodluck Jonathan; Minister of transportation, Rotimi Amaechi and numerous Nigerian Senators.

For more information, visit