University of Lagos




Akoka, Lagos State, South West Nigeria


12 Academic Faculties


15 Halls of residence, 3 Campuses

Fields of study:

Arts, Education, Engineering, Law, Sciences, Medicine, Pharmacy


“In deed and in truth.”

Founded in 1962, the University of Lagos has, for over 5 decades, provided qualitative and research-oriented education to Nigerians and all those who have entered its domain in search of knowledge. At its inception, the University of Lagos was empowered to produce a professional workforce that would steer the political, social, and economic development of a newly independent country.

Over the last fifty years, the University has pursued this mission with vigor, excellence, and panache. The University has built a legacy of academic excellence and is now acclaimed publicly as “the University of First Choice and the Nation’s Pride.”

From a modest intake of 131 students in 1962, enrolment in the university has now grown to over 40,000. The University’s staff strength is 3,365 made up as follows: 1,386 Administrative and Technical, 1,164 Junior, and 813 Academic Staff.

The University has built a legacy of excellence and has been instrumental in the production of top-range graduates and academia who have had a tremendous impact, directly or indirectly, on growth and development in Nigeria and across the globe.

University of Lagos has a great number of notable alumni, some of which include  Yemi Osinbajo, current Vice President, Federal Republic of Nigeria; Tony Elumelu, Chairman, United Bank for Africa; Akinwunmi Ambode, former Accountant-General and Governor of Lagos State and many other dignitaries.

For more information, visit